If you’re a student, Arkansas has a special rule for you. You can be paid 85 percent of the federal minimum wage for workers in the state. The Department of Labor offers a Student Certificate of Eligibility to students. Full-time students are expected to work less than 20 hours a week during school term weeks, and 40 hours a week when classes are not in session. Full-time students are entitled to 85 percent of the state minimum wage, but they must still be paid the same base wage as other tipped employees.
The tipped minimum wage in Arkansas is $2.63 per hour
In Arkansas, employers must pay tipped employees a minimum wage of at least $2.63 per hour but can take a tip credit of up to $8.37 per hour until 2022. They must cover the difference, however, with another wage or by paying double what they would have paid if they hadn’t gotten any tips. Some employees have dual jobs, and some spend part of their shift performing non-tipped tasks. In such cases, it is possible to take advantage of the federal law, which allows employers to allow tip credit for these non-tipped hours.
When calculating the minimum wage, the federal and state laws may differ. In Arkansas, employers may be able to reduce the minimum wage by up to 10% for uniform costs, but they cannot reduce the amount by more than $.30 per hour for lodging and meals. In some circumstances, the state may allow a lower minimum wage than federal law. The tipped minimum wage in Arkansas is $2.63 per hour.
The tipped minimum wage in New Hampshire is $8.50 per hour
The state of Arkansas takes its lead from the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, which governs minimum wages, overtime requirements, and other employment rights. In Arkansas, employers can pay tipped employees a sub-minimum wage. However, this wage cannot exceed $8.50 per hour in cash. To make up the difference, employers must take “tip credit” for hours worked. During a workweek, tipped employees must earn at least this amount in tips.
If the employer makes less than $342,000 in gross sales, they must pay less than the minimum wage. This is also true for employers who have a small tip credit policy. In the case of businesses that do not charge tips, the minimum wage is $8.50 per hour, if the employer pays its employees tips. Employers can take advantage of the tip credit by obtaining signed certifications that indicate the tips they gave.
New Hampshire minimum wage equals the federal minimum wage
In New Hampshire, the minimum hourly wage is $7.25. However, employers may only pay up to 75% of that amount to trainees. These employees must be under the age of 20 and must be employed for less than six months. Employers may also opt to pay these employees no wages or subminimum wages. However, they must apply with the state’s Department of Labor within 10 days of their hire.
There are strict deadlines for filing a claim. If you think your employer hasn’t followed the law, you can file a wage claim with the New Hampshire Department of Labor. However, if you are unsure of the validity of your claim, you should consult with a qualified employment lawyer before filing. This guide isn’t intended to replace the advice of an attorney, so a lawyer is not necessary.
Vermont minimum wage equals the federal minimum wage
Whether you work for a small or large company, you should know your rights under the minimum wage laws of your state. The federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 an hour, and Vermont follows this level. However, if your state does not use this federal minimum wage, your company must pay your employees at a higher rate. That means that in most cases, the minimum wage in Vermont is higher than the federal minimum wage.
While it’s unclear how much more the minimum wage in Vermont will be after this year’s hike, the increase should be significant for many people. Vermont has a successful economy and has shown empathy toward its workers by raising their minimum wage to the federal minimum wage. The table below shows how much the minimum wage is expected to increase in Vermont every year through 2022, as well as previous years dating back to 2008.